NDC fear they can never win elections with credible voters' register – Kofi Akpaloo

The leader of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), Kofi Percival Apaloo has said the National Democratic Congress (NDC) is resisting the Electoral Commission’s call for a new voters’ register because they cannot win any elections with a credible register.

According to him, the old voters’ register cannot be used for the 2020 general elections since the database still contains irregularities under the supervision of Mrs. Charlotte Osei and her two deputies — Amadu Sulley and Georgina Opoku Amankwah which even led to their removal from office by President Akufo-Addo some two years ago.
The founder of the LPG party who spoke on OmanbapaSHOW with Ampratwum said, ”the actions of the beleaguered EC Chairperson and two deputies that led to their sack from office even makes it clear to Ghanaians that the old register during the 2012 and 2016 elections is bloated with foreigners and other illegal transfers”
”The NDC have used this procedure to rig elections and win power in many years and so they fear that they can never win power with a clean voters’ register”
”It is impossible for the NDC  to return to government when Electoral Commission compiles a new voters’ register”, he added.
With almost 11 months into the 2020 general elections,the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) is contesting against plans by the EC under the leadership of the chairperson, Jean Mensa, to change the voters’ register.
They believe that it is an attempt to rig the elections in favor of the ruling government, NPP and have promised to embark on a series of countrywide demonstrations if the move is carried out.
A Coalition of some 13 political parties have explained their support for the Electoral Commission’s (EC) decision to obtain a new biometric voter system.
Mr Akpaloo indicated that the EC has made a solid case for a new register in terms of cost, time and credibility hence their support to enable it deliver a better-organized election than before.
Below is the list of the 13 political parties
New Patriotic Party (NPP)
Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG)
People’s National Convention (PNC)
National Democratic Party (NDP)
United People’s Party (UPP)
Democratic People’s Party
The Convention People’s Party (CPP)
Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)
Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD)
New Vision Party (NVP)
Yes People’s Party (YPP)
United Love Party (ULP)
Ghana Freedom Party (GFP)
Source: silveronline24


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here